Calendar Awards Forum Leaders List Members List FAQ
Advertisement

$ LinkBack Thread Tools

#1 (permalink)   [ ]
Old 01-31-2012, 11:03 PM
Cloud Cuckoolander

View Posts: 1,804
Cultural Assimilation

I currently work as a translator in East Asia, and one of the complaints I once heard from my Asian co-workers towards the Western world is what he terms "cultural assimilation", that - through institutions and organs such as Hollywood and Christianity - the Western world is imposing their own cultural standards and values on other countries, and politically and socially condemning those who do not share their values.

On one hand, some people see their own personal cultures as a means of heritage, an ethnic and national form of identification. They consider their own culture and values to make them what they are in terms of nationality and ethnicity, what makes them unique and different from everyone else in the world. They also consider their own history and customs too important to simply forget and abandon, and consider Western intrusion on their values to be a violation on their cultural sovereignty. On the other hand, different values are often used to justify what people in the West consider to be the suppression of human rights or crimes against humanity. They have caused more than one diplomatic spat, and make international endeavors increasingly difficult not only in terms of international communication, but also mutual interests and mentality. Some also argue that the differences in culture only serve to divide humanity with self-important and meaningless categories, thereby promoting ethnocentricism and nationalism.

So the question posed: In a globalizing world, how much cultural assimilation are we supposed to accept? What is your ideal scenario in regards to cultural similarities, cultural preservation, and cultural sovereignty?