Calendar Awards Forum Leaders List Members List FAQ
Advertisement

$ LinkBack Thread Tools

#1 (permalink)   [ ]
Old 05-05-2012, 03:47 PM
Light Spirit
View Posts: 6,223
Musicians. The difficulty?

So for all the musicians on ZU, I'm wondering what's the most difficulty for you when you play your instrument?

For me, its getting the time to practice and actually focusing since it seems like once my mentor teaches me something, it always feels like what I learn goes in one ear and out the other.

Also since I graduated high school I've been taking private lessons to help me learn while not in school mainly Music Theory. Which the hardest for me, to teach myself Music Theory and Ear Training until I transfer to a university.

So basically, what's the hardest for you when practicing?
  #2 (permalink)   [ ]
Old 05-05-2012, 07:25 PM
so ridoclus
Send a message via Skype™ to Jordan
Steam ID: deafas♥♥♥♥
View Posts: 10,868
Re: Musicians. The difficulty?

not rushing. It is tempting to try to run everything as fast as you think you can right off the bat but if you don't play it well at 60 BPM you shouldn't be playing it all. The past year that's what I have been focusing on, trying to make my picking and fretting technique when I play eighths at 60 exactly the same as my picking and fretting technique when I play them at 220.
3 people liked this post: ɹɐǝqıɹǝ, Keith, notthatothername
  #3 (permalink)   [ ]
Old 05-05-2012, 08:33 PM
Prince Blueblood Prince Blueblood is a male United States Prince Blueblood is offline
Prince of the Sea!
View Posts: 381

Mainly finding time to practice . There's this one kid in my band that is better than me but he has three periods of school to practice in I feel if I had that time I'd be able to do something with it!

Click my Egg please so that it will hatch!!!
  #4 (permalink)   [ ]
Old 05-05-2012, 09:26 PM
Light Spirit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prince Blueblood View Post