Calendar Awards Forum Leaders List Members List FAQ
Advertisement

$ LinkBack Thread Tools

#1 (permalink)   [ ]
Old 07-27-2012, 08:15 PM
A citizen of the world, known to all and to all a stranger
View Posts: 4,040
Your Art Education Background

What education in the arts do you have? What schools did you attend or are currently attending? What camps, seminars, classes, and workshops have you been to? What books and guides have you read, and what tutorials and instructional videos have you watched?
Last Edited by Vulpes; 07-28-2012 at 11:29 AM. Reason: Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)   [ ]
Old 07-27-2012, 08:44 PM
(Jehanne)

View Posts: 17,450
Re: Your Art Education Background

I am a new artist.

Actually, until around February of this year, I don't think I really thought of myself as an artist at all.

I fall somewhere between the categories of self-taught, class-taught, and associate-mentored?

I spent a year studying on my own and getting feedback from people on ZU and dA: basically from June 2010 until August 2011. I was given the 6 Loomis drawing and painting how-to books and used those mostly, in addition to studying from photographs and life drawing. People on dA that influenced me include Eternal Legend, Yuroran, Toshinho, and nheira; I looked to their tutorials, their art, their words, and all four gave me useful feedback and advice. They made a big difference, actually.

Before 2010, I drew very little. Maybe once or twice a year, I'd pull out paper and spend half an hour trying to make something? But I kind of always believed that artists were born with their genius. I was never told that they actually worked and learned to be able to do what they do. I took a semester of art in 7th grade ~ didn't appear to have any special talent.

:]

Last August-December I took one intro drawing class (6 hours a week, studio+seminar) and one intro sculpture class (6 hours a week, studio+seminar).