Thread: ZU for sale?
View Single Post
  #1   [ ]
Old 06-20-2006, 08:26 PM
Wiimobot Wiimobot is offline
Banned User
Join Date: Jun 2006
View Posts: 208
ZU for sale?

That's right, Lee, the current webmaster of ZU, is selling ZU.

Quote:
Zelda Universe for Sale
Written by TSA
Tuesday, 20 June 2006
Yes, you read that correctly. And it is not Zelda.com, but ZeldaUniverse.net. Lee Dodd, the owner of the of Zelda Universe, has listed his site for sale. This was first picked up on RSS feeds thanks to Hyrule.net, and I've been reading through the posts about it for the past half hour. Bottom line, I'm pretty sickened by this.
I will make two things clear.

1) James and Scott are good webmasters and good fans who haven nothing to do with the ads from the site. This is nothing against their community, which is awesome and I am a frequent member of.

2) Zelda fans profitting off The Legend of Zelda, beyond selling stuff on eBay that they bought in the first place, is the worst thing you can do in my book. I can tolerate covering costs of hosting, but when you are using a majority of Nintendo's intellectual property to make this obscene amount of money, it's bull ****. Sure, it's his site and he and his team made it what it was - but what right does he have to sell something that was mostly made possible by the existance of the Legend of Zelda, and his site is a FAN SITE. It's not like we're companies here (yes, that's even you Land of the Legend - you're a fan site). We do not get bought out by bigger companies, or sell for profit. We are not like GoNintendo, Joystiq or Kotaku, who at anypoint could be gobbled up for a lot of money, or turn themselves profitable by selling publicly.

I'm not going to get into this anymore than what I've said because you all will just blame me for causing some site wars. This is nothing against ZU, do not make it that way. This is an issue i have with Lee, the founder, who is doing something I find worse than site theft, making up info, or flaming sites.
Source: http://www.thehylia.com/index.php?op...=122&Itemid=33

Proof: http://www.adminfusion.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7711
More Proof: http://www.boydcreative.net/1/zeldau...is-for-sale-2/


Lee, what the hell are you doing?